EURO 88 Squad honoured at Mansion House

The Lord Mayor of Dublin graciously held a special reception for the members of the Republic of Ireland squad & staff who competed at the UEFA European Championships in 1988 to celebrate the EUROs coming to Dublin in 2020.

Several players who were involved in Ireland’s first ever appearance at a major finals, including goalscorers Ray Houghton and Ronnie Whelan, were present on the night and they recieved specially commissioned posters and scrolls to mark the occasion.

Also in attendance was Lord Mayor Nial Ring, FAI President Donal Conway, FAI CEO John Delaney and UEFA President Aleksandr Ceferin – all of whom were able to share their experiences of that tournament in 1988.

While some players could not make the function, there were a few special mentions for Mick McCarthy – the newly-installed Ireland manager – as he was a key player in that team and also present at the ceremony, with everyone wishing him the very best of luck in qualifying for EURO 2020.

The reception was one of many events put on to build excitement ahead of Sunday’s Qualifying Draw in the Convention Centre with Street Football takeovers, the lighting up of the Beckett Bridge, and a trophy visit to Dublin schools.

Attendees at the reception
 John Aldridge, John Anderson, Tony Cascarino, Kevin Sheedy, Mick McCarthy, Liam O’Brien, Ray Houghton, Ronnie Whelan, Tony Galvin
Staff: Charlie O’Leary, Mick Byrne, Arnold O’Byrne, Mary Hunt